Football News2023 Ballon d”Or Nominees List Announced
Post image

The nominees for the 2023 Ballon d’Or have been announced with Bukayo Saka among a host of Premier League players included.

The prestigious, Ballond d’Or ceremony will take place in Paris on October 30 with Karim Benzema the current holder after firing Real Madrid to the Champions League in 2022.

Lionel Messi is the favourite to win a record eighth title after captaining Argentina to World Cup glory in Qatar. Additionally, Kylian Mbappe and Erling Haaland are both likely to be in contention.

There are a number of Premier League stars once again in the mix with Saka joined by Arsenal teammate Martin Odegaard and Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah. England skipper Harry Kane does make the cut following his summer move to Bayern Munich, as does international colleague Jude Bellingham.

Unsurprisingly, Manchester City’s Treble winners are well represented with Haaland among the inclusions alongside Kevin de Bruyne, Rodri, Ruben Dias, Bernardo Silva, Julian Alvarez. Departed former skipper Ilkay Gundogan features alongside summer arrival Josko Gvardiol.

There are also nominations for new Manchester United goalkeeper Andre Onana after he helped Inter to the Champions League final and Real Madrid superstar Vinicius Jr. There was no place though for Cristiano Ronaldo, who misses out for the first time in 20 years.

England star Bellingham is in the mix for the main prize and under-21 award, named the Kopa Trophy, as is Manchester United new boy Rasmus Hojlund after his impressive season with Atalanta last time out.

Meanwhile, Arsenal stopper Aaron Ramsdale has been nominated for the Yashin Trophy, given to the best goalkeeper over the course of the year. Ramsdale is joined by Onana, Manchester City’s Ederson and World Cup winner Emiliano Martinez.

THE 2023 Ballon d’Or LIST

Julian Alvarez, Nicolo Barella, Jude Bellingham, Karim Benzema, Yassine Bounou, Kevin De Bruyne, Ruben Dias, Ilkay Gundogan, Antoine Griezmann, Josko Gvardiol, Erling Haaland, Harry Kane, Khvicha Kvaratskhelia, Robert Lewandowski, Randal Kolo Muani, Emiliano Martinez, Lautaro Martinez, Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi, Kim Min-Kae, Luka Modric, Jamal Musiala, Martin Odegaard, Andre Onana, Victor Osimhen, Rodri, Bukayo Saka, Mohamed Salah, Bernardo Silva, Vinicius Jr