CricketAUS vs SL 2022: SLC appoints Lasith Malinga as bowling Strategy Coach for the T20I series
Post image

SLC has appointed Lasith Malinga as Sri Lanka’s bowling strategy coach for the five-match T20I series against Australia starting from February 11. Previously Malinga has worked as a mentor for Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2018.

AUS vs SL 2022

“Malinga, in his new short-term role as a specialist coach, will support Sri Lanka’s bowlers, providing tactical insight and technical expertise to help the on-field execution of strategic plans,” Sri Lanka Cricket said in a release on Wednesday (January 26). 


“SLC is confident that Malinga’s vast experience and renowned death-bowling expertise, especially in the T20 format, will help the team immensely going into this series.


“He was appointed by the Executive Committee of Sri Lanka Cricket in consultation with the Technical Advisory Committee of Sri Lanka Cricket. The appointment is effective from 1st to 20th February 2022.”


Lasith Malinga who is regarded as a legend in limited-overs cricket has played 30 Tests, 226 ODIs & 84 T20Is during his illustrious career span. He is among the four bowlers who have scalped more than 100 wickets in the T20I format.


Speaking about his appointment as Sri Lanka’s bowling coach Malinga said, “We have some very talented young bowlers and I am very excited about the opportunity to share my experience and knowledge to help them develop,” he said about his appointment.


Rumesh Ratnayake has been appointed as the interim coach of the Sri Lanka team for the Australia tour. However, Ratnayake will not travel to Australia with the rest of the team as currently, he is in isolation after being tested positive for COVID-19. He will join the team in Australia before the first T20I after completing his mandatory isolation period.


Meanwhile, on Wednesday the SLC announced a 20 member squad for Australia T20I series. The squad includes nine new members along with Danushka Gunathilaka and Kusal Mendis, who had their one-year ban revoked earlier this month. However, Niroshan Dickwella whose ban was also lifted hasn’t featured in the 20 member T20I squad.


AUS vs SL 2022, Sri Lanka’s T20I Squad:


Squad: Dasun Shanaka (C), Charith Asalanka (VC), Avishka Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Chamika Karunaratne, Janith Liyanage, Kamil Mishara, Ramesh Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lahiru Kumara, Nuwan Thushara, Dushmantha Chameera, Binura Fernando, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Shiran Fernando