CricketAustralia Announced 16 Man Squad For Post BGT ODI Series Against India
Post image
Finally there is some good news for Australian team as the team has been announced for three matches ODI series against India. Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson and Mitchell Marsh will be making a comeback after missing anticipated Big Bash League.

Cricket Australia has listed out 16 players who will be taking part in the ODI series just after Border Gavaskar Trophy. This will be first international outing for Glenn Maxwell after his World Cup stint, following a regrettable foot injury he was forced to miss entire BBL season.

Mitchell Marsh, too, took part in the world cup but missed the BBL season due to an ankle injury. The all rounder has took his to rehabilitate and now, ready to feature in white ball setup once again as Australia prepares for upcoming 50 overs ODI World Cup.

Jhye Richardson has earned his place in the team. He bowled exceptionally well during initial matches in BBL but later on, he missed games towards the back half due to hamstring strain. He is developed himself as one of the most consistent wicket takers in the opening overs of the game.

Josh Hazlewood is set to miss another as he is still medicating, it was Achilles injury that has kept him out of decisive series matches. Sean Abbott has joined the team as his replacment as the Victorian performed so well in the previous edition of Big Bash League.

Australia has picked a team full of all rounders. Marcus Stoinis will be joining the team, Adam Zampa is always a tough bowler in these conditions. Another big name to join the team is Josh Inglis. He batted wonderfully for Perth Scorchers, and his glove work was second to none in the tournament.

There will be a number of experiments with Josh Inglis picking up gloves if Carey doesn’t improve his form. Ashton Agar has been included in the team despite being left out half way from the test team. This means Australia is still searching for that left arm orthodox bowler who can negotiate middle overs.

Australia ODI squad for India tour

Pat Cummins (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

The first ODI between India and Australia gets underway at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium on March 17, with the first ball scheduled for 7pm AEDT.