Australia More Strong With Smith & Warner Back In Team Against Sri Lanka

Australia More Strong With Smith & Warner Back In Team Against Sri Lanka

Back to football news
06 Jun 2022
--- views
Sri Lanka vs Australia

Australia will stick to their former formula which won them the maiden T20 World Cup. It is with this expectation that the choice of choosing the three leading fast bowlers will suit him.

Ashton Agar and Kane Richardson have both returned in the series against Sri Lanka. At the same time, Australia’s Test captain Pat Cummins and Adam Zampa are out of the selected XI for the T20 series. Although both were part of Australia’s world cup winning team.

Captain Aaron Finch suggested that Josh Inglis was an unfortunate omission for the match at the R Premadasa Stadium, where tropical rain has made the pitch favorable for fast bowlers. Kane Richardson competed with his teammates Jhye Richardson and Sean Abbott to replace Cummins. Both were part of the White Ball series played against Pakistan.

While Ashton Agar has replaced Zampa who is in Australia. All-rounders Glenn Maxwell, Mitch Marsh and Marcus Stoinis will balance the fifth bowler’s overs.

David Warner, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell and Steve Smith are back th the team. Also, Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood are in team after the recent T20I matches against Sri Lanka in February and Pakistan in April.

The pacers are expected to be friendly as Australia picked three pacers for Tuesday’s first T20I against Sri Lanka, with Ashton Agar and Kane Richardson called back for the sold-out series opener.

Finch said the selectors had considered partnering Agar with a second spinner in Mitchell Swepson, but heavy rain on the island meant the generally dry subcontinental conditions the Aussies were not accustomed to.

Australia XI for the 1st T20I against Sri Lanka: Aaron Finch (c), David Warner, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Ashton Agar, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson, Josh Hazlewood

Sri Lanka T20 squad: Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Pathum Nisanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Charit Aslanka, Bhanuka Rajapakse, Nuwanidu Fernando, Lahiru Madushanka, Vanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chamira, Kasunnawan Ramesh, Maheshnathan Ramjitha, Bhanuka Rajapakse, Nuwanidu Fernando Thikshana, Praveen Jayavikrama, Lakshna Sandakan. Standbys: Jeffrey Vandersay, Niroshan Dickwella

Match day and time

June 7: 1st T20I, Colombo, 7:00 PM

June 8: 2nd T20I, Colombo, 7:00 PM

June 11: 3rd T20, Kandy, 7:00 PM

  • Sri Lanka vs Australia
  • Livescore (livescore)
  • Match highlights

Subscribe and receive the latest news

Facebook Twitter
Card image
Goal Post

REVIEW MW 25 | Champions League Spot Slip Away | English Premier League 21/22 | THE GOAL POST

Justin is back with another review of the Premier League. In this video, he will review the games of Premier League 25.   Tottenham V Wolves It was a game where Conte was not happy. As you may already know, Tottenham lost the game against Wolves. The team was playing at the home stadium and

15 Feb 2022
--- views
Card image

UNLUCKY ROONEY, JDT Collab With Aston Martin & Many More! | OFF THE PITCH

Dana is back with a new episode of the “Off the pitch”. She will review the latest rumors in European football. Varane’s departure from Real Madrid  Varane is departing from Real Madrid and he is going to Manchester United and Real Madrid is going to have it tough without him, Varane was and still for

29 Jul 2021
--- views