Cristiano Ronaldo named Manchester United Player of the Year

Cristiano Ronaldo named Manchester United Player of the Year

Back to football news
04 Jun 2022
--- views
Cristiano Ronaldo

Cristiano Ronaldo was up for the Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year award, voted for by the club’s supporters.


A little about the topic

Portuguese footballer Cristiano Ronaldo won the Red Devils Player of the Year award, albeit losing Spanish player David De Gea in voting for the club’s 2021-22 campaign player. The Portuguese enjoyed a prolific first season back at Old Trafford, scoring 24 goals in all competitions, 18 of them in the PL. Indeed, the player finished behind only Mohamed Salah and Son Heung-min in the Golden Boot race in England’s best flight and expressed his determination to help Man Utd win trophies in the 2022-23 season.


How is it decided who will be the Manchester United Player of the Year?

The Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year award is voted on by the club’s supporters around the world. Fans were asked to vote for the player they thought deserved the award, with Cristiano Ronaldo eventually receiving 60% of the total votes. David finished second in the voting, with 29%, while Fred finished with 2%. Portuguese player Cristiano Ronaldo also has a chance to win the PFA Player of the Year award, where he was nominated along with Harry Kane, Kevin De Bruyne, Mohamed Salah, Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane.


Latest Winners

This is the fourth time Red Devils star Cristiano Ronaldo has claimed the Man Utd Player of the Year award, having previously won it in 2003-04, 2006-07 and 2007-08, the season in which Manchester United won the Champions League. Spain’s David De Gea has also won the award four times – and three in a row between 2013 and 2016 – and footballers from Portugal have dominated the past three seasons, with Fernandes claiming accolades in 2019-20 and 2020-21. Ander Herrera, Luke Shaw, Antonio Valencia and Robin van Persie have also been nominated for the award once in the past 10 years.

  • Cristiano Ronaldo
  • manchester united
  • Livescore (livescore)
  • Match highlights

Subscribe and receive the latest news

Facebook Twitter
Card image
Goal Post

REVIEW MW 25 | Champions League Spot Slip Away | English Premier League 21/22 | THE GOAL POST

Justin is back with another review of the Premier League. In this video, he will review the games of Premier League 25.   Tottenham V Wolves It was a game where Conte was not happy. As you may already know, Tottenham lost the game against Wolves. The team was playing at the home stadium and

15 Feb 2022
--- views
Card image

UNLUCKY ROONEY, JDT Collab With Aston Martin & Many More! | OFF THE PITCH

Dana is back with a new episode of the “Off the pitch”. She will review the latest rumors in European football. Varane’s departure from Real Madrid  Varane is departing from Real Madrid and he is going to Manchester United and Real Madrid is going to have it tough without him, Varane was and still for

29 Jul 2021
--- views