CricketDelhi Capitals Appoints David Warner As Captain & Axar Patel As Vice Captain For IPL 2023
Post image
David Warner has been appointed as the captain of Delhi Capitals team for the upcoming Indian Premier League season. Alongside him, Axar Patel will be his deputy, playing the role of vice captain in this season for Delhi Capitals.

Since the accident of Rishabh Pant, it was highly recommend that, Warner will be the fitting replacement as the captain. He has experience of playing more than 150 IPL matches, has a successful record as captain and led his ex team Sunrisers Hyderabad to title victory in 2016, leading from the front.

Before joining Delhi Capitals for IPL 2023, the 36 years old will take part in 3 match ODI series against India starting from 17th March. Previously included in test team, he couldn’t make any positive impact and after sustaining an injury (fractured elbow), he was left out for last two test matches. Now being fully fit, he is ready to take part in ODI series.

Despite his recent struggles in the shortest format, Delhi Capitals management has been keep to show trust in him, it is purely because he’s an international star with wealth of experience under his belt. Warner joined Delhi Capitals just last year after Sunrisers Hyderabad decided to leave him out to prefer younger players to the team.


Last year was on average for David Warner who showed some good signs but couldn’t pull up anything extraordinary like he used to do when he was on song in past years. He had a short stint with Delhi Daredevils and back in 2010 season, smacking his first IPL hundred for the team.

So the team will be hoping some vintage David Warner touch which will be a headache for opposing teams. Without Rishabh Pant, it will be a huge responsibility for Warner to lead the team without a solid middle order batter. They have included some new players to their side but how things will unfold is yet to be seen.

Axar Patel has been in grandeur form in last 3-4 months, no surprise why he has been chosen as the deputy. He has immensely worked on his batting standard and with a big season on show, he can definitely emerge as one of the best all rounders of the season.

Delhi Capitals Full Squad

Ashwin Hebbar, David Warner, Mandeep Singh, Prithvi Shaw, Ripal Patel, Rovman Powell, Sarfaraz Khan, Yash Dhull, Anrich Nortje, Chetan Sakariya, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Khaleel Ahmed, Kuldeep Yadav, Lungi Ngidi, Mustafizur Rahman, Pravin Dubey, Shardul Thakur, Vicky Ostwal, Axar Patel, Lalit Yadav