CricketIND vs. AUS Border-Gavaskar Trophy: Schedule, Squads, and Stats, Everything you need to know
Post image
The Most Awaited Border-Gavaskar Trophy is around the corner, and Cricket lovers are under extreme hype. The first test of the series will begin on Thursday, 9th February 2023, in Nagpur’s Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium.

Border-Gavaskar Trophy, named after the two legendary batters Alan Border and Sunil Gavaskar, started in 1996. Now yet, a total of 15 series have been played. Following this Article will give you the entire Schedule, including Match Dates and Venues, along with some mind-blowing stats.

The India Vs. Australia test is always a thrill to watch. Below is the entire test series schedule, venue, and time:

India vs. Australia Test Match Dates & Venue 2023

DateMatch DetailsVenueTime
Thu, Feb 09 – Mon, Feb 13India vs. Australia, 1st Test 2023Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur09:30 AM IST
Fri, Feb 17 – Tue, Feb 21India vs. Australia, 2nd Test 2023Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi09:30 AM IST
Wed, Mar 01 – Sun, Mar 05India vs. Australia, 3rd Test 2023Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala09:30 AM IST
Thu, Mar 09 – Mon, Mar 13India vs. Australia, 4th Test 2023Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad09:30 AM IST

Recently, former Indian Wicketkeeper Batsman Dinesh Karthik joined the Commentary team for the test series. Below is the list of Commentary Panel for the IND vs. AUS test series.

  • Ravi Shastri
  • Sunil Gavaskar
  • Murali Karthik
  • Dinesh Karthik
  • Ajit Agarkar
  • Harsha Bhogle
  • Matthew Hayden
  • Sanjay Manjrekar

Both the Indian and Australian teams have some injury blows before the first test. India is unable to get the services of Shreyas Iyer and Jasprit Bumrah. Meanwhile, the Australian Team got a recent shock from Josh Hazlewood, who is still not recovered from the injury he got in the South Africa series last year. Australia is already missing their Marquee Bowler Mitchell Starc in the series now their key bowler Hazlewood is also unavailable for the first two tests at least.

Below is the Full Squad of both teams with the Predicted Playing XI:

AUS Squad: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (VC), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

India Squad (for the first two Tests): Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (VC), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat, Ishan Kishan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav.

Predicted Playing XI for the first BGT test:

Australia Predicted Playing XI: David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Alex Carey, ,Travis Head, Cameroon Green, Nathan Lyon, Pat Cummins, Lance Morris/Todd Murphy, Scott Boland

India Predicted Playing XI: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, KS Bharat/Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammad Siraj, Mohammad Shami

Border-Gavaskar Trophy is known for its tough fight between bat and ball. The BGT has given us many memorable performances with the bat and ball. Below are some batting and bowling stats that will put your hype on another level:

TOP 5 Run Scorers in Border-Gavaskar Trophy

  • Sachin Tendulkar (3262 Runs in 34 matches; Average – 56.24)
  • Ricky Ponting (2555 Runs in 29 matches; Average – 54.36)
  • VVS Laxman (2434 Runs in 29 matches;  Average – 49.67)
  • Rahul Dravid (2143 Runs in 32 matches; Average – 39.45)
  • Michael Clarke (2049 Runs in 22 matches; Average – 53.92)

Most Centuries in Border-Gavaskar Trophy

  • Sachin Tendulkar – 9 Tons in 65 Innings
  • Steve Smith – 8 Tons in 28 Innings
  • Ricky Ponting – 8 Tons in 51 Innings
  • Virat Kohli – 7 Tons in 36 Innings
  • Michael Clarke – 7 Tons in 40 Innings

Highest Individual Scores in Border-Gavaskar Trophy

  • Michael Clarke – 329* in Sydney 2012
  • VVS Laxman – 281 in Eden Gardens 2001
  • Ricky Ponting – 257 in Melbourne 2003
  • Ricky Ponting – 242 in Adelaide 2003
  • Sachin Tendulkar – 241* in Sydney 2004

These were some of the fantastic batting stats in the BGT, but we have witnessed many outstanding bowling performances too. Below are some markable bowling stats of BGT:

Most wickets in Border-Gavaskar Trophy

  • Anil Kumble – 111 wickets in 20 matches with an average of 30.32
  • Harbhajan Singh – 95 wickets in 18 matches with an average of 29.95
  • Nathan Lyon – 94 wickets in 22 matches with an average of 34.75
  • Ravichandran Ashwin – 89 wickets in 18 matches with an average of 31
  • Ravindra Jadeja – 63 wickets in 12 matches with an average of 18.85

Best bowling figures in an inning in Border-Gavaskar Trophy

  • Nathan Lyon – 8/50
  • Harbhajan Singh – 8/84
  • Anil Kumble – 8/141
  • Jason Krezja – 8/215
  • Ravichandran Ashwin – 7/103

Best bowling figures in a match in Border-Gavaskar Trophy

  • Harbhajan Singh – 15 wickets for 217 Runs
  • Anil Kumble – 13 wickets for 181 Runs
  • Steve O’Keefe – 12 wickets for 70 Runs
  • Ravichandran Ashwin – 12 wickets for 198 Runs
  • Nathan Lyon – 12 wickets for 286 Runs

Most 5 wicket hauls in Border-Gavaskar Trophy

  • Anil Kumble – 10
  • Harbhajan Singh – 7
  • Nathan Lyon – 7
  • Ravichandran Ashwin – 5
  • Josh Hazlewood – 4

The first test of the series will be played in Nagpur from 9th February 2023.