IND vs SL T20I Series: Sanju Samson receives a call-up as BCCI announces a 16 member squad

IND vs SL T20I Series: Sanju Samson receives a call-up as BCCI announces a 16 member squad

Back to football news
20 Feb 2022
--- views

BCCI announced a 16 member squad for the three-match home T20I series against Sri Lanka. Sanju Samson who had last featured in an ODI in Sri Lanka has received a call-up in the Indian T20I squad.

IND vs SL T20I Series

The inclusion of Samson comes as a surprise for fans as he had failed to deliver in his previous outing. On the other hand, KL Rahul who is still recovering from his injury will miss the Sri Lanka T20Is.


Apart from KL Rahul, India will miss the services of Virat Kohli & Rishabh Pant who has been rested from the series & final T20I against West Indies in order to manage their workload. The duo has already left the Indian team’s camp in Kolkata & will return for the Sri Lanka test series. With three key players of the Indian team being rested there are chances for Sanju Samson to feature in the Playing XI.


Bowling all-rounder Shardul Thakur has also been rested for the T20I series but India’s key all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja will make a comeback in the squad who has been out of action for a while due to an injury. Jadeja last featured for India in the Kanpur Test against New Zealand last November and missed out on the South Africa tour due to an injury.


Pacer Jasprit Bumrah who was rested for the West Indies series will return to the squad & has been named as Rohit Sharma’s deputy for the test series. On the other hand, Washington Sundar who was ruled out of the T20I series against West Indies due to injury will continue his recovery & has been excluded from the T20I squad.


Sri Lanka tour of India will commence with the T20I series. The first T20I of the series will be played in Lucknow on February 24 while the next two T20Is will be played in Dharamshala followed by a two-match test series. The first test of the series will be played in Mohali from 4th March while the final test of the series which is a day & night test will be played in Bengaluru from 12th march. Sri Lanka is currently playing a T20I series in Australia which is already clinched by Australia with a 4-0 score.


IND vs SL T20I Series: India Squad

Rohit Sharma (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Md Siraj, Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Avesh Khan.

Sri Lanka Tour of India Revised Schedule:

1 Thursday 24th February 1st T20I Lucknow
2 Saturday 26th February 2nd T20I Dharamsala
3 Sunday 27th February 3rd T20I Dharamsala
4 Friday 4th-8th March 1st Test Mohali
5 Saturday 12th -16th March 2nd Test (D/N) Bengaluru
  • BCCI
  • Cricket
  • IND vs SL
  • India
  • Sanju Samson
  • Sri Lanka
  • T20I
  • Livescore (livescore)
  • Match highlights

Subscribe and receive the latest news

Facebook Twitter
Card image
Goal Post

REVIEW MW 25 | Champions League Spot Slip Away | English Premier League 21/22 | THE GOAL POST

Justin is back with another review of the Premier League. In this video, he will review the games of Premier League 25.   Tottenham V Wolves It was a game where Conte was not happy. As you may already know, Tottenham lost the game against Wolves. The team was playing at the home stadium and

15 Feb 2022
--- views
Card image

UNLUCKY ROONEY, JDT Collab With Aston Martin & Many More! | OFF THE PITCH

Dana is back with a new episode of the “Off the pitch”. She will review the latest rumors in European football. Varane’s departure from Real Madrid  Varane is departing from Real Madrid and he is going to Manchester United and Real Madrid is going to have it tough without him, Varane was and still for

29 Jul 2021
--- views