CricketIND vs WI 2022: Washington Sundar ruled out of the T20I Series
Post image

Indian team suffered another major setback ahead of the three-match T20I series as the ace spinner Washington Sundar has been ruled out of the T20I series against West Indies due to a hamstring muscle strain.

IND vs WI 2022 

Sundar who made a comeback to international cricket after a long injury forced break in the recent ODI series against West Indies suffered a left hamstring muscle strain while doing fielding in the third ODI. He will need a few more weeks to recover & return back to action.


“Washington Sundar suffered a left hamstring muscle strain during fielding in the third ODI,” said a statement from BCCI. Kuldeep Yadav has been named as his replacement.


Washington will report at the NCA on February 15 & will spend three weeks at the NCA under rehabilitation. Sundar left the Indian team camp in Kolkata who is currently gearing up for the T20I series commencing on February 16 in Kolkata. The Indian team also had a net session at Eden Garden in Kolkata on Monday evening


Washington Sundar becomes the third player to be ruled out of the T20I series after KL Rahul & Axar Patel. Vice-Captain KL Rahul suffered an upper left hamstring strain during fielding in the 2nd ODI (vs West Indies) on February 9 while Axar contracted with COVID-19. However, he has recovered from COVID-19 & has resumed the final stage of his rehabilitation, informed the BCCI.


“They will now head to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru for further management of their injury,” the BCCI said recently adding “The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Ruturaj Gaikwad and Deepak Hooda as replacements”, BCCI added to its statement.


Meanwhile, in the recently concluded IPL 2022 auction, SRH grabbed the services of Washington Sundar for an impressive 8.75 crore.

IND vs WI 2022: India’s T20I squad

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Deepak Hooda, Kuldeep Yadav