CricketIndia aim to expand spin web to uncharted territories of Chepauk
Post image
India Women and South Africa Women are set to clash in a historic Test match in Chennai, marking the first international cricket action for the Indian team in the city. South Africa’s last Test match in India was almost a decade ago, with Marizanne Kapp being the only surviving member from that XI. Despite being a veteran in international cricket, Kapp has played as many Tests as the 25-year-old South African captain, Laura Wolvaardt.

This Test match will be India’s third of the season, while South Africa will be playing their third of the calendar year, but both teams are new to Test cricket in the women’s circuit. The one-off Test in Chennai presents an opportunity for the teams to revive their rivalry in the traditional format and potentially make it a regular feature in the future.

The Indian team has been preparing for the Test match with a focus on red-ball cricket, with spin-friendly conditions in mind. South Africa, on the other hand, is cautious with the return of Kapp, their pace spearhead, who has been nursing a back injury since 2024. Both teams are looking to balance player workloads and team compositions as they head into the Test match.

With the upcoming ODI World Cup in 2025, both India and South Africa are using this Test series to gain valuable experience and insights into playing in different conditions. The match is expected to be heavily influenced by spinners due to the nature of the pitch at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

India’s probable XI includes players like Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur, while South Africa could see the debut of Annerie Dercksen in the absence of Ayabonga Khaka. The captains of both teams, Kaur and Wolvaardt, have shared their thoughts on the upcoming match, highlighting the importance of teamwork and player readiness.

As the two teams gear up for a historic clash, cricket fans can expect an exciting contest between India Women and South Africa Women in the Test match starting on Friday, June 28, at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.