CricketIPL 2022: Royal Challengers Bangalore Team Analysis and Playing 11
Post image
The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 will start from March 26, with Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) playing their first match against Punjab Kings (PBKS) on March 27.

This time RCB will present a new challenge under the leadership of their new captain Faf du Plessis. Du Plessis, who played for CSK last season, will be captaining a team in the IPL for the first time.

RCB have done a great job by adding du Plessis to their team, he brings experience and a balancing element to the team. Also, he was the second highest run scorer in last season and he played a number of match winning innings in the last couple of years.

Apart from du Plessis in RCB’s batting order, there are aggressive batsmen like Finn Allen and Glenn Maxwell. Also, the batting order finds its balance with experienced players like Virat Kohli and Dinesh Karthik. However, the team will miss AB de Villiers who was a runaway match winner for RCB.

RCB have world class bowlers like Josh Hazlewood and Mohammad Siraj. The team’s fast bowling department looks strong due to the addition of T20 specialist Harshal Patel. Apart from Hazlewood, Jason Behrendorff is the foreign fast bowler who can trouble batsmen with his inswinging deliveries.

The spin department seems a bit weak after the departure of Yuzvendra Chahal considering he has been the most successful bowler for RCB. However, the team management has added Karn Sharma to the spin department, he brings experience but he doesn’t have variety in bowling like Chahal has.

RCB had retained the x-factor all-rounder Glenn Maxwell for 11 crore. Last season was great for him as he won a few matches single handedly for RCB.

RCB have two young all-rounders Sri Lanka’s Wanindu Hasaranga and West Indies’ Sherfane Rutherford, both can turn the tide of the match in the middle overs.

Hasranga has impressed with his performance in international cricket. RCB will expect a similar performance in the IPL.

This year RCB can advance with a new opening pair, du Plessis and Kohli. New Zealand’s Finn Allen, Maxwell and Dinesh Karthik will play at number three, fourth and fifth respectively.

Mahipal Lomror and Hasranga could be other options in the middle order. Apart from them, Shahbaz Ahmed can be another spin option. Hazlewood, Harshal and Mohammad Siraj can be seen together in fast bowling.