CricketIPL 2022: What are strengths and weaknesses of Chennai Super Kings? Read team analysis and essentials
Post image
Chennai Super Kings (CSK), the second most successful franchise of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2022), will be seen playing in the first match of the 15th season of the league.

CSK won the title last season and this season they will be looking to defend their title. CSK did a great job in the auction and have roped in a lot of good players.

Also, CSK is a team that mostly bids on experience rather than young talents but this year, they have set forth a good combination of both.

CSK have batting legends like Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Robin Uthappa who bring experience as well as the ability to win matches single handedly. Apart from them, young Ruturaj Gaikwad is also going to be the primary top order batsman of the team this season.

Ambati Rayudu will also have high hopes for the team as he has batted very well in the last couple of years. The arrival of Devon Conway has also strengthened the middle order of the team. Hari Nishant and N. Jagadeesan can be a good backup.

CSK has always relied on all-rounders and this time their team consists of nine all-rounders. Ravindra Jadeja and Moeen Ali will be the main all-rounders for the team and they are expected to play almost every match.

Dwayne Bravo will be preferred because of his experience, but this season he will have to make some decent impact with his bowling. Shivam Dubey, Mitchell Santner, Dwayne Pretorius and Rajvardhan Hungergekar will have a good chance to prove themselves this year.

Looking strong in batting and all-rounders, CSK looks a bit weak in the specialist bowling unit. Deepak Chahar is the only Indian bowler in the team who can be trusted.

Chris Jordan and Adam Milne will be the foreign fast bowlers. Maheesh Teekshana is going to be the only option in the spin department. Teekshana is a promising young talent and apart from him, the team will have to rely on all-rounders Jadeja and Moin.


Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Moeen Ali, Ravindra Jadeja, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Robin Uthappa, Dwayne Bravo, Ambati Rayudu, Deepak Chahar, C. Hari Nishant, Narayan Jagadeesan, K.M. Asif, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dubey, Chris Jordan, Mahish Teekshana, Rajvardhan Hungergekar, Simarjit Singh, Devon Conway, Dwayne Pretorius, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Shubhranshu Senapati, Mukesh Choudhary, Prashant Solanki and K. Bhagat Verma