Italian Serie A NewsJuventus move top after Ronaldo nets late penalty
Post image

Cristiano Ronaldo scored a stoppage-time penalty to clinch a dramatic 2-2 win over 10-man Genoa which moved Juventus back to the top of Serie A.


Ronaldo went down under a challenge from Antonio Sanabria. Although with minimal contact, the referee pointed to the spot and the VAR officials confirmed the decision with a silent check.

Moments after Portugal’s forward saw a goal disallowed by VAR, he converted in the 96th  minute of stoppage time.

“We suffered a lot but we were the rightful winners. We created so many chances and deserved this win.” Said Ronaldo.

“Nevertheless, we needed the win but and we kept on trying until the end.”

Genoa played for more than half an hour with a numerical disadvantage after Francesco Cassata was sent off.

Leonardo Bonucci’s header had put the hosts ahead before Christian Kouame’s miskick fooled Gianluigi Buffon.

41-year-old Buffon was making a record-equaling 513th league appearance for the 35-time Italian champions moving him to level with forward, Alessandro del Piero.

Juventus also ended the game with 10 men after substitute Adrien Rabiot saw red in the late stages. This, however, did not stop them from scrapping an important win following Ronaldo’s intervention.

Genoa coach, however, said he would sleep well despite the defeat.

He said, “We played them on level terms until the end which isn’t easy here in Turin. I don’t judge referees but I can say, he was severe with us.”

The game veered in Juventus’ favor when Dybala tries to squeeze past two players and Cassata was dismissed after the Argentine tumbled to the ground.

Juventus had a substitute, Adrien Rabiot sent off for a second bookable offense with three minutes to play. But still, Genoa was not safe.

Ronaldo turned in Juan Cuadrado’s pass in the third minute of stoppage time. Not until Juventus had celebrated the goal than it was disallowed for offside following VAR check.

But in the last attack, Ronaldo collected a pass inside the area cut inside Sanabria and fell forwards.

He seemed to try to make contact with Sanabria rather than the other way round. But the referee awarded a penalty and the irrepressible Portuguese converted.