CricketMCA Honours Ravi Shastri, Ajinkya Rahane & Shardul Thakur For The Gabba Test Win
Post image
Maharashtra Cricket Association has honoured the Indian team for their historical won at the Gabba against Australia. Ravi Shastri was the chief guest at the Mumbai Cricket Association’s annual award ceremony held at the ‘MCA’ Sharad Pawar Cricket Academy ground in Bandra Kurla Complex on Friday.

The awards from the 2016-17 season were also distributed in this ceremony. BCCI Treasurer Ashish Shelar was also present in this ceremony. MCA president Amol Kale welcomed all the attendees.

The Gabba test match was special in many terms for the Indian team. For the record, Australia was undefeated at Gabba for last 32 years. The fortification was almost impregnable but team India led by Ajinkya Rahane did something extraordinary to hand the Aussies first loss at the Gabba in 32 years.

It wasn’t single player performance that won the match. Every single played a key role and most importantly, Rishabh Pant in the second innings. He scored crucial 89 runs that was enough contribution to chase down the big fourth Innings score of 329 runs.

In case of bowling, it was Mohmmad Siraj who pioneered the script to Australian downfall. He took 5 wickets in the second innings, dismissing both Marnus Labuschagne and Steve Smith.


Rest of the job was done by Shardul Thakur who bagged four wickets in the second innings and three wickets in the first.

In the first innings, India was 186 for 6 at one stage. It is never easy to get yourself out from such unwanted situation but 123 runs partnership between Washington Sundar and Shardul Thakur allowed India to pressurize the Aussies in their backyard.

Both lower order bowling all rounders scored 60 runs and gave India the opportunity to seize the historic moment.

Here is the SCORECARD SUMMARY of Gabba test match:

AUSTRALIA • 369/10 (115.2 Overs) 1ST INNINGS

Marnus Labuschagne 108 (204)

Tim Paine 50 (104)

T Natarajan 3/78 (24.2)

Washington Sundar 3/89 (31)

INDIA • 336/10 (111.4 Overs) 1ST INNINGS

Shardul Thakur 67 (115)

Washington Sundar 62 (144)

Pat Cummins 2/94 (27)

Josh Hazlewood 5/57 (24.4)

AUSTRALIA • 294/10 (75.5 Overs) 2ND INNINGS

Steven Smith 55 (74)

David Warner 48 (75)

Shardul Thakur 4/61 (19)

Mohammed Siraj 5/73 (19.5)

INDIA • 329/7 (97 Overs) 2ND INNINGS

Shubman Gill 91 (146)

Rishabh Pant * 89 (138)

Nathan Lyon 2/85 (31)

Pat Cummins 4/55 (24)