CricketNew Zealand Announces Team For WC T20, Guptill To Play 7Th T20 World Cup
Post image
Finn Allen and Michael Bracewell are the only players who did not play for the team that reached the final in 2021 in New Zealand’s 15-player party for the Twenty20 World Cup in Australia.

In addition to his batting duties, Devon Conway will also keep wickets at the T20 World Cup, which begins for the Black Caps on October 22 in Sydney with a rematch of last year’s championship game against Australia. Martin Guptill will compete in his seventh T20 World Cup.

Kyle Jamieson, a pitcher with a back injury, was replaced by Adam Milne, who filled in for Lockie Ferguson at last year’s tournament in the United Arab Emirates.

Leg spinner Todd Astle and wicketkeeper Tim Seifert’s numerical replacements are hard-hitting batsman Allen and all-rounder Bracewell.

“It’s great to have this tournament so soon after last year’s event,” said coach Gary Stead. “We played some really good cricket, but at the end we couldn’t quite get over the line.”

“With the nucleus of that squad retained along with the exciting additions of Finn and Michael, we should go into the tournament with plenty of optimism.”

New Zealand also face Afghanistan, England and two as yet undetermined qualifiers from the opening stage of the tournament in Group 1 of the Super 12.

Adam Milne, a pacer, has kept his spot, and Devon Conway, who held the gloves during a series victory in the West Indies last month, has been appointed as the team’s first-choice wicketkeeper.

The Black Caps will play a home tri-series beginning on October 7 in Christchurch against Pakistan and Bangladesh as a warm-up.

Prior to playing England and Afghanistan, New Zealand will play the hosts of the Twenty20 World Cup, Australia, on October 22 in a rematch of the championship game from the previous year.

Squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway (wicketkeeper), Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee