CricketNew Zealand vs Sussex: Warm Match Analysis & Squad
Post image
New Zealand is having a robust preparations for their Test series against England as Kiwi bowlers shone in sunshine for the tour’s warm-up match against Sussex. New Zealand bowlers had a day under the sun in Hove to keep their face in the door heading into the final day of the warm-up ahead of their Test series against Sussex. After the batting unit showed immovable work, the bowling unit came on top by bowling out Sussex.

Left-arm spinner Ajaz Patel also took two wickets for the Blackcaps, while Sussex posted 247 all out in 79.1 overs in day three of a four-day friendly at Sussex, answering an announced total of 342-3. For the Blackcaps, Tom Latham (65), Will Young (55), Michael Bracewell (51) and Tom Blundell (51) scored fifties before leaving the test for down order batsmen.

Sussex started strongly, making it 57 before losing three wickets for nine runs in three overs. Michael Bracewell (51 not out) and Tom Blundell (51) also scored runs before being dismissed. Colin de Grandhomme (2/26), Matt Henry (2/36) and Ajaz Patel (2/84) also contributed with two wickets each, with spinners Michael Bracewell (1/28) and Rachin Ravindra (1/7) also taking their turns. It was the first of a flurry of wickets to fall, with Sussex losing three for nine in three overs, with Jacob Duffy getting Tom Allsop caught behind, then trapping Tom Clarke for an Lbw, both going for a duck.

Matt Henry said he and teammates loved to shoot and appreciated Jacob Duffy’s efforts. The wickets were shared by Jacob Duffy, Colin de Grand, Matt Henry and Ajaz Patel, with each taking two scalps. It was an united effort from batting and bowling unit as New Zealand is batting again for the fourth and final day of test match. New Zealand bowlers shared the wickets, warming up for their first Test against England. England had almost 80 runs to spare against Sussex at Hove. 

Kane Williamson has yet to join the team to lead the squad. Other players including Trent Boult, Devon Conway and Tim Southee will be part of them. Later two on their way to join while to former is part of Rajasthan Royals who qualified for the playoffs.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Tom Blundell, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Cameron Fletcher, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Hamish Rutherford, Tim Southee, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Will Young