Football NewsSFA Writes to UEFA’s Head of Refereeing Over McTominay’s Ruled Out Goal
Post image

The SFA has written to UEFA head of refereeing Roberto Rosetti seeking clarification on the confusion and contradictions surrounding Scott McTominay’s disallowed goal against Spain.

With Scotland chasing a single point to reach the Euro 2024 finals, McTominay’s stunning 59th-minute free-kick in Seville promised to go down as the strike which fired Steve Clarke’s side to Germany.

However, Dutch referee Serdar Gozubuyuk, who was referred to the pitchside monitor by VAR colleagues, initially gave a hand signal indicating that the goal had been disallowed for a foul on goalkeeper Unai Simon and that information was forwarded to broadcasters.

Europe’s governing body have now confirmed that, after a 16-minute delay, the decision was actually changed to offside.

SFA chief executive Ian Maxwell has now written to UEFA’s head of referees demanding answers over the chronology of events.

Scotland’s ruling body want answers to key questions, including:

  • WHY the referee signalled a foul with his hand gesture, with that information then handed to broadcasters.
  • WHY broadcasters were informed that the decision had been changed to offside 16 minutes later — yet a line graphic presented showed only one line.
  • WHY the decision was changed for a third time to inform broadcasters that the goal had been ruled out because Scotland player Jack Hendry was deemed to have fouled goalkeeper Simon.
  • WHY the original decision of the referee to award the goal was deemed a ‘clear and obvious error’ when the Spain keeper made no attempt to play the ball.
  • WHY a clear foul against John McGinn was not given as a free-kick.
  • WHY VAR failed to look at a penalty claim for Lyndon Dykes when McTominay’s free-kick was disallowed.

Pointing out that the decision to disallow the goal had a ‘material impact on the game’, the SFA have asked Rosetti for an explanation of the decisions made.

Chalking off the McTominay goal lifted the home support in Estadio La Cartuja, with Alvaro Morata and Oihan Sancet then securing a 2-0 win for Spain.

Experienced Italian official Rosetti was supposed to be the original UEFA refereeing delegate at the game before pulling out for personal reasons. He was replaced by Pole Tomasz Mikulski.

Meanwhile, manager Clarke says the disallowed goal robbed McTominay of a James McFadden moment.

Tartan Army icon McFadden scored one of the most famous Scotland goals of all time in a memorable 1-0 win over France in Paris in 2007.

And McTominay’s effort was also set to go down in national folklore until the officials intervened.

‘It would have been, it really would have been (a moment of McFadden glory),’ said Clarke.

‘Look, the offside is really marginal. The fact that Jack steps forward is marginal and I’d say it’s open to interpretation. I don’t think the goalkeeper was saving it regardless, I’ve got to be honest. But that decision has gone against us and we have to take it on the chin and move on.’

Scotland are still set to qualify for the Euro finals if Spain avoid defeat in Norway on Sunday night, and Clarke insists his team have earned a trip to Germany next summer.