CricketGill takes a jibe at officials via social media after Green’s controversial catch
Post image
The World Test Championship final going on at the Oval right now saw a major brawl on the fourth day because of India’s opener Shubman Gill’s dismissal. The controversy began when Gill played a shot and the ball was caught by Cameron Green in the gully. After a prolonged inspection by the third umpire, Richard Kettleborough, he was given out. The disappointment right after this decision was seen by a large section of fans and some former cricketers, who felt injustice had been done against India.
The dismissal became a trending topic
While the skipper, Rohit Sharma, who was batting alongside Gill at the time, didn’t hesitate to vent their frustration, at the tea break, Sharma was seen walking to the dressing room, full of despair. Shubman Gill’s dismissal became a trending topic on social media, especially Twitter, as fans posted over three lakh tweets with the hashtags #notout and #ShubmanGill. Fans didn’t even back down from criticising ICC and Richard Kettleborough as well.
Gill took social media to dig at officials
After the play for the fourth day was over, in which India reached 164/3 chasing a colossal target of 444 runs, Gill took social media to voice his personal opinion on the subject. He posted a picture of Green on his Instagram story, where the Australian all-rounder is diving to take a low-diving catch, and used applaud emoticons in context to it. The 23-year-old also posted the same picture on Twitter, where he got a huge amount of support from the fans. As per the picture shared by Gill, it seems that the fielder touched the ball to the ground before completing the catch, which ended the batter’s inning of 18 runs off 19 balls.


The decision led India to lost early wicket
Gill’s controversial dismissal happened right before the tea break as he tried to hit Scott Boland’s ball which was slightly wide of the off stump line. However the ball took an outside ende and went to the gap between the slip and gully before Cameron Green fell to his left to complete the catch. After a brief discussion between the on-field umpires, the decision was sent to the third umpire, who dismissed Gill due to lack of any concrete evidence in support of the batsman. After the play of the fourth day was over, In the post-match conference, Green himself said that he was not sure if the catch was clean.  
The Contentious moment saw India lose their first wicket on 41 runs after which Rohit Sharma and Cheteshwar Pujara added 50 runs on the board. However the pair fell apart quickly after that as Rohit was trapped lbw  while  Pujara was caught by the keeper in an attempt to play an uppercut shot. Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane, currently stand in the field keeping India’s hope alive for the win. Today is the fifth and last day of the WTC final and India needs 280 runs to create history in the Oval.