SL vs ZIM 2022: Sri Lanka Cricket named 17 man squad for the three-match ODI series

SL vs ZIM 2022: Sri Lanka Cricket named 17 man squad for the three-match ODI series

Back to football news
13 Jan 2022
--- views

Sri Lanka Cricket on Thursday announced a 17 man squad for their upcoming three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe.

Hasaranga will miss the entire Zimbabwe ODI series at home

Uncapped pacers Nuwan Thushara, Chamika Gunasekara, and Shiran Fernando have made the cut to the 17 men announced squad. Also, five standby players have been named by Sri Lanka Cricket.


Sri Lanka’s key player Dhananjaya De Silva will miss the Zimbabwe series because of paternity leave. Sri Lanka will also miss the services of Avishka Fernando, Janith Liyanage, and Kamil Mishara after the trio tested positive for COVID-19. Meanwhile, Sri Lanka Cricket has also confirmed that Lahiru Kumara & Kalana Perera were not included in the squad as they failed to meet the fitness requirements. The major drawback for the Sri Lanka team is the absence of Wanindu Hasaranga who will miss the entire Zimbabwe ODI series at home.


Key details about the Uncapped Players included in the squad

Thushara bagged five wickets conceding 13 runs in the LPL 2021 for Galle Gladiators against Jaffna Kings before the finals & was the second-highest wicket-taker of the LPL 2021. he has played in 15 List A matches & has scalped 11 wickets so far. He displayed a spell-bounding performance with the ball against Pakistan A where he finished with impressive figures of 6/83 in a first-class contest.


On the other hand, Shiran has fetched 26 wickets from 26 List A matches he has played till now. Considering the extraordinary performances of these uncapped players they have secured a place into Sri Lanka’s 17 man squad announced for their home ODI series against Zimbabwe.


Schedule of the SL vs ZIM 2022 ODI Series

The first ODI series between Sri Lanka & Zimbabwe will be played on January 16 while the second & the third ODI will be played on January 18 & 21 respectively. All the three ODIs will be played at a single venue i.e. Pallekele International Cricket Stadium. The fixtures will commence at 2.30 pm IST & will be live telecasted on the Sony Ten Network.


What is special about the SL vs ZIM 2022 ODI series is that it will be a part of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League. Thirteen teams are participating in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League and the top seven teams will earn direct qualification for the 2023 ODI World Cup, which will be played in India.


SL vs ZIM 2022 ODI Series Sri Lanka Squad

Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanka, Minod Bhanuka, Charith Asalanka, Maheesh Theekshana, Chamika Karunaratne, Jeffrey Vandersay, Nuwan Thushara, Ramesh Mendis, Praveen Jayawickrama, Dushmantha Chameera, Chamika Gunasekera, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep, Shiran Fernando, Kamindu Mendis.


Standby players:

Ashen Bandara, Pulina Tharanga, Nimesh Vimukthi, Ashian Daniel, Asitha Fernando, Vishwa Fernando have been named as standby players.

  • #ODISeries
  • #SLC
  • #SLvsZIM2022
  • #SriLankaCricket
  • Livescore (livescore)
  • Match highlights

Subscribe and receive the latest news

Facebook Twitter
Card image
Goal Post

PREVIEW MW 15 | English Premier League 21/22 | THE GOAL POST

Nipun is back with a new episode of the Goal Post. He will preview the games of the Premier League matchweek 15.     Wolves against Liverpool It will be interesting to see Liverpool playing against Wolves. Keep in mind that Liverpool won the latest game in the Premier League and they had a successful

2 Dec 2021
--- views
Card image

UNLUCKY ROONEY, JDT Collab With Aston Martin & Many More! | OFF THE PITCH

Dana is back with a new episode of the “Off the pitch”. She will review the latest rumors in European football. Varane’s departure from Real Madrid  Varane is departing from Real Madrid and he is going to Manchester United and Real Madrid is going to have it tough without him, Varane was and still for

29 Jul 2021
--- views