CricketSouth Africa Pulled Out Of ODI Series In Australia Due To Local Franchise League
Post image
South Africa withdrew from their ODI series to be held in Australia in January 2023. Now, Australia has been awarded three-match ODI Super League points as it seems the case of walk out.

It means that South Africa willl de facto loose the series 3-0. Their record in ODI Super League hasn’t been great so it has pushed them close to being denied direct qualification for the 2023 World Cup in India. They were already at number 11 in the table with just four wins from 13 matches.

Following the announcement of its new T20 league starting in January, in the previous month CSA requested CA to postpone the series, which was to be held after three Test matches. However, with no window found in the crowded calendar, the matches have been cancelled.

A Cricket Australia statement said, “Given that these games will not be played before the qualification cut-off date in May, CSA has agreed that Australia will be awarded competition points for ICC approval.”

The paved off series will allow Australian players to participate in Big Bash League 2022 which was happening parallel to the hosting South Africa.

Shuffle In World Test Championship Points Table, Sri Lanka Makes Big Jump

While Australia’s Test stars will still be absent for the first half of the tournament, who would normally also play ODIs, they will now have more availability and white-ball players, such as Aaron Finch, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis and Adam Zampa. , will not be withdrawn from BBL for a period of 10 days.

CA have made adjustments to the international schedule elsewhere to compensate Hobart – whose only international game of the season was due to take place during the trip to South Africa.

The second men’s T20I against West Indies on 7 October will now be played at the Gabba instead of the Metricon Stadium, on 9 October the first T20I against England will be played in Perth instead of Brisbane.

Hobart will now stage the second Women’s T20 International against Pakistan which was originally scheduled for Canberra on 26 January.

Amended fixtures

T20I series vs West Indies

October 5: Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast (N)

October 7: The Gabba, Brisbane (N)

T20I series vs England

October 9: Perth Stadium, Perth

October 12: Manuka Oval, Canberra (N)

October 14: Manuka Oval, Canberra (N)

T20I series vs Pakistan

January 24: North Sydney Oval, Sydney

January 26: Blundstone Arena, Hobart (N)

January 29: Manuka Oval, Canberra