CricketWest Zone will face South Zone in the finals of Duleep Trophy
Post image
South Zone and West Zone are all set to face each other in the final of Duleep Trophy, with the final the players will be willing to fulfill their collective goal of winning the title as well as their individual targets, starting tomorrow. If we look at the teams, then West Zone has an amazing record in this tournament. They have appeared in 34 Duleep Trophy finals and won 19 of them, which makes them the most successful team in this tournament. South Zone will be eager to end that dominance by winning their 14th title. 


The final will give players a big chance
The South Zone will also get the opportunity to prove themselves as they lost the last year’s Duleep Trophy final to Ajinkya Rahane-led West Zone by a huge margin of 294 runs. As in any team competition, the Duleep Trophy also serves as a means to achieve personal objectives and Cheteshwar Pujara is the biggest example of this. The veteran was dropped from the Indian team for the West Indies tour and this lapse must have hurt him but he didn’t let himself go down and played some brilliant innings of 133 runs for West Zone in the semi final against Central Zone, taking his team to the finals. 


The players will try to perform more better
Pujara will be eager to give another epic performance in the final. The Veteran has played over 103 tests and scored 7000 runs, this will serve as a pathway for many others from both the teams. Mayank Agarwal, who is the vice captain of South, Sarfaraz Khan and Prithvi Shaw are entering the big title clash after scoring runs in previous Ranji season. Agarwal scored some good runs in the quarter final but Prithvi and Sarfaraz failed to progress. All three players will look for a better show this week. Hanuma Vihari and Washington Sundar will also need to show some serious effort as Vihari last appeared for India in 2022 , while Washington played an ODI series earlier this year against Sri Lanka. 


The squad of both Zones
The South Zone team includes Hanuma Vihari, Mayank Agarwal, Washington Sundar,  Sai Sudharsan, R Samarth, Ricky Bhui, Sachin Baby, Pradosh Ranjan Paul, V Kaverappa, V Vyshak, Pradosh Ranjan Paul, V Vyshak, KV Sasikanth, N Tilak Varma, and Darshan Misal.
The West Zone team includes: Priyank Panchal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Prithvi Shaw, Het Patel, Suryakumar Yadav, Sarfaraz Khan, Harvik Desai, Arpit Vasavada, Atit Seth, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Shams Mulani, Kedar Jadhav, Tushar Deshpande, Chintan Gaja, and Arzan Nagwaswalla.